Everything Comes With A Cost (Besides Just Monetary)

As our journey together on this blog draws close to its conclusion, I need to take a moment to be somber. Everything comes at a price. Although wine is truly God’s sweet nectar, like all types of alcohol, it has negative effects.

According to WebMD (aka the website that has at times led me to believe I had diseases just because of a small cough), wine is only “likely safe for most adults when no more than 2 five-ounce glasses are drunk per day”. Do not know what five ounces in a wine glass should look like? Here are some photographic examples from Caitlyn Boyle.

My favorite wine glass that I always use is the one on the far left and I usually pour if halfway (10 ounces). I guess the reason why my asthma gets bad after an intense wine night is because of the salicylates (salt or ester of salicylic acid) found in the wine and/or nitrites that have been added. Both ingredients are linked to causing an allergic reaction.

Besides the commonly known effects of too alcohol, which is blackouts, vomiting, diarrhea, eventual dependence, and liver problems, it can lead to other serious conditions such as heart conditions. One of the main perks of wine can be totally erased by abusing it! This is one of the main reasons why we must only enjoy our indulgences in moderation people!

It can also make plenty of conditions worse such as: high blood pressure, high levels of triglycerides (blood fats), insomnia, neurological conditions, pancreatitis, GERD (stomach ulcers or a type of heartburn), porphyria (blood condition), and mental problems.

Is it bad that the two dangers I’m most worried about are the insomnia and mental problems? I already have too many things that cause me to lose sleep/go crazy. I do not need my favorite guilty pleasure to turn into a toxic vice.

So moral of the story (or blog) is to drink in moderation! Know your fluid ounces and just how much to pour!

